Like other states throughout the nation, Ohio has laws in place that make texting while driving illegal for all ages. Drivers under 18 years old – also known as novice drivers – are prohibited from using a cell phone at all while operating a motor vehicle, unless they need to contact emergency services pull over to the side of the road to make a call or send a text.
On the other hand, drivers over the age of 18 can make calls from cell phones from either a hands-free or handheld devices. However, like those under 18 years of age, they are banned from texting. See ORC § 4511.204.
Penalties for Texting & Driving in OH
For motorists over the age of 18, texting laws are considered "secondary" laws. This means a police officer must see a driver commit another moving violation to pull the driver over and, if the individual is found texting, he or she can be cited for that in addition to the original charge.
The fine for texting and driving for drivers over 18 is $150.
For novice drivers, the cell phone and texting law is a primary law, meaning that the driver may be pulled over by a police officer for the sole purpose of violating these laws.
The fine of texting and driving for novice motorists is up to $300.
Injured in a Collision Caused by a Texting Driver?
Since texting while driving is illegal in Ohio, anyone who suffers an injury in a car accident caused by a texting driver can recover financial compensation because ignoring the state traffic laws is considered an act of negligence. It is imperative to obtain legal representation from an experienced personal injury lawyer.